RSS Feed

Chat With Bill Polhemus

I sat on a bench on the Boardwalk with (Sheriff) Bill Polhemus for about an hour this afternoon. We both were waiting for a Travel Channel crew to arrive to film some footage at Kohr’s Original Frozen Custard on Franklin Avenue. Anyway…I had Bill and his memories to myself for an hour. He’s lived in Seaside Heights his entire life and his family roots go back to a time before the town was officially formed! What amazed me the most is that he remembers soooooooo much about Seaside Heights even despite the passage of time. I have days when I can’t remember my kids’ names (well, maybe that’s an exaggeration). Needless to say, I wrote it all down as soon as I got home.

One response »

  1. Kathleen (nee Clancy) Simmer

    My dad was a seasonal police officer working with then Captain Bill Polhemus of the Seaside Heights Police Department from about 1966 – 1979. It is hard to ever imagine the Heights without him.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

