RSS Feed

Dell Hopson Chief of Fire Company

I’m going to be adding many Christmas and New Year’s advertisements and greetings from the 1940s to 1950s. While organizing those microfilm clips I came across this December 17, 1943, Ocean County Review news article mentioning that Dell Hopson was reelected chief of the Seaside Heights Volunteer Fire Company. Other people mentioned in the article whose names are familiar to many of us include Thomas Reutter (elected as foreman) – “Tommy” is still a member of the fire company and regularly attends meetings and fire calls even to this day – Paul K. Hershey (deceased father of present Seaside Heights Mayor P. Kenneth Hershey), Henry “Tex” Gilmore (deceased father of Borough Attorney George Gilmore), and Charles Kessler. The annual fire company election is more than a bylaw requirement – it is one of the great traditions that have been passed down from one generation of firefighters to another. Congratulations to James Samarelli on your election to Fire Chief (2011) and my father, Tony Vaz, on your reelection to Company President (2011). And a big thank you to all of the firefighters and members who served as officers in 2010! As always, use your mouse to expand the photo.

2 responses »

  1. Christina Oddo Spitzer

    unfortunitely, it took Sandy fir me to find your site. I was born in Seaside. Naturally, I was surprised to see my father’s name. in boardwalk heroes. There is a slight error with the name. my father was Tony Oddo and was a real hero of the boardwalk. My aunt and uncle Sam and Josephine Tedesco were also old timers on the boardwalk. I would love it if you could make that change.
    Boy am I having a ” walk down memory lane” going through your site. It must have been an epic project gathering and organizing everything. I just want you to know how much I have enjoyed the site.
    Thank you,
    Christina Oddo Spitzer

    Reply

Leave a Reply

